The Blue Door

Print this document

Contact Details

contact name: Sue Duckworth   Email me
postal address: PO Box 478,  Blenheim,  7240
telephone: 03 5788059 , Facsimile: 035781318

Our Organisation

The Blue Door – an intriguing name? Our original premises had a large blue door and the name has been retained and is extremely well recognised in the local community as offering reasonally priced recycled goods for sale.

It began in 2/2/02 as an initiative of Nativity Anglican Church to assist people in need and to stop unwanted, but useful goods going to the landfill. The service has expanded rapidly and the Blue Door is well known as a place where people can donate their unwanted goods.

We sell these goods at low cost and the profits are given back to the community. Annually we we give away over $40,000.00 to the local food bank and groups who are in need for assiatance in the wider Marlborough area.

Our eight volunteers are the backbone of our organisation working alongside the three permanent and four part-time paid staff in the shop. They assist with cleaning and sorting and selling the donated goods.

We have a basic number of nominal members and from these seven committee members are elected and our shop manager capably assisted by her two assistants are responsible for the retail operation.

We aim to encourage people to think reuse/recycling and we are committed to helping our community work towards zero waste.
Community Awards

The Trustpower Community Awards are run in 25 regions around New Zealand to recognise and reward the outstanding contribution voluntary groups and organisations make in our communities.


Enter a voluntary group online now!


Here you will find all you need to know About the Awards, including When Entries Open in your region, How to Enter a voluntary group for the Awards, where to find and complete an Information Form, who the Regional Winners are and, of course, all about our National Community Awards.


Mistletoe Bay Trust the 2013 Trustpower National Community Awards Supreme Winner. Click here to find out more.